Driver Issues
Author Message
Vent Away Adventurer

Posts: 7,479
More info
21st February 2013 07:54 AM
Post: #1
---QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED, THANK YOU EVERYONE---
---Leaving this thread open just incase anyone else is curious what to do---

Alright, I'm not sure where to ask so I'm gonna put it here.

Ever since I got my computer out of repairs, it's worked fine...up until when I tried to install AMD Drivers for the HD 6700.

Each and every time I go through the exact same process.

1. Download AMD Driver for (supposedly) my card
2. Starts to install
3. Resolution shrinks to small as possible
4. Says it's installing Audio Drivers
5. Bluescreen
6. Restart computer, resolution is screwed up along with my layout
7. Rollback to before I installed AMD
8. Repeat from step 1

I'm fucking tired of this Mlp-fnotamused. I have no idea what's causing it and I don't know what to do. I closed all programs that play noise, I didn't move the mouse at all when it was downloading, it just keeps bluescreening over and over and over again.

If it helps, here's what my "graphics" tab is right off of speccy.

Quote:Graphics
HP 2011 (1600x900@60Hz)
ATI Radeon HD 4200 (HP)
AMD Radeon HD 6700 Series (XFX Pine Group)
CrossFire Disabled
(This post was last modified: 22nd February 2013 10:19 AM by Vent.)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Chiro Online Adorable Reindeer Doctor

Posts: 31,593
More info
21st February 2013 07:58 AM
Post: #2
Why do you need two graphics cards if you're not doing CrossFire? mlp-phuh

Oh derp nevermind that's your integrated video.

I'm 2sleepy to tech support.

AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Alca7raz Online unexpected end of line

Posts: 13,345
More info
21st February 2013 08:09 AM
Post: #3
Alright, first off, some more info.

What version of windows are your running? XP, 7? 32-bit or 64-bit?
Is there an error reason on the BSOD? (Something like IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUALor something to that effect), it might not have one and it might just reboot the computer too quickly to read it.

First things to try are reseating the card and checking its connections.

[Image: 8Yny8GK.png]
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJelly2spoopyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some applesROLL FIZZLEBEEF!
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Vent Away Adventurer

Posts: 7,479
More info
21st February 2013 08:10 AM
Post: #4
(21st February 2013 08:09 AM)Alca7raz Wrote:  Alright, first off, some more info.

What version of windows are your running? XP, 7? 32-bit or 64-bit?
Is there an error reason on the BSOD? (Something like IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUALor something to that effect), it might not have one and it might just reboot the computer too quickly to read it.

First things to try are reseating the card and checking its connections.

1. 7, 64 Bit
2. I think there was something on the bluescreen but I don't remember what.

And I have no idea how to reseat the card. Or check its connections. When it comes to innerworkings of computers I'm as technically competent as a dog.
(This post was last modified: 21st February 2013 08:12 AM by Vent.)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeHeartsUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Alca7raz Online unexpected end of line

Posts: 13,345
More info
21st February 2013 08:15 AM
Post: #5
(21st February 2013 08:10 AM)Vent Wrote:  1. 7, 64 Bit
2. I think there was something on the bluescreen but I don't remember what.

And I have no idea how to reseat the card.

You should be using the latest catalyst drivers then 13.1. They are located here for your system

Reseating the card is just making sure is fully in its slot, usually by removing and reinstering it.

There might be a record of the BSOD in the windows event viewer with its error code.

You might also try making sure everything else is up to date, like windows updates and maybe BIOS as well.

An anti-malware scan probably couldn't hurt either.

[Image: 8Yny8GK.png]
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Vent Away Adventurer

Posts: 7,479
More info
21st February 2013 08:20 AM
Post: #6
(21st February 2013 08:15 AM)Alca7raz Wrote:  You should be using the latest catalyst drivers then 13.1. They are located here for your system

Reseating the card is just making sure is fully in its slot, usually by removing and reinstering it.

There might be a record of the BSOD in the windows event viewer with its error code.

You might also try making sure everything else is up to date, like windows updates and maybe BIOS as well.

An anti-malware scan probably couldn't hurt either.

1. Those are the first drivers I attempted to download. Got the exact same problem I'm having now.

2. I don't know how to open the computer.

3. Nothing was in there.

4. I'll do this in a 'mo.

5. I don't think it's possible for me to have gotten malware this quick. I just got back literally five hours ago.
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJelly2spoopyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodwhy is this happing?Buy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Alca7raz Online unexpected end of line

Posts: 13,345
More info
21st February 2013 08:29 AM
Post: #7
(21st February 2013 08:20 AM)Vent Wrote:  1. Those are the first drivers I attempted to download. Got the exact same problem I'm having now.

2. I don't know how to open the computer.

3. Nothing was in there.

4. I'll do this in a 'mo.

5. I don't think it's possible for me to have gotten malware this quick. I just got back literally five hours ago.

Yeah the malware is a long shot. Hard to say what the issue is without knowing the error code on the BSOD, and without seeing the computer, I'm not sure how to open it either. How did you get the 6700 installed?

There should be something in the event viewer event if its just informative messages.

[Image: 8Yny8GK.png]
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Vent Away Adventurer

Posts: 7,479
More info
21st February 2013 08:33 AM
Post: #8
There was an update for windows about the 4200's display. Just finished download, gonna test run something and see how it works before trying a driver installation.

If that fails, well, I'll be back with a BSOD error message at least.
SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION

That's what came up. Although the resolution isn't fucked this time...
(This post was last modified: 21st February 2013 08:50 AM by Vent.)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Alca7raz Online unexpected end of line

Posts: 13,345
More info
21st February 2013 09:17 AM
Post: #9
(21st February 2013 08:33 AM)Vent Wrote:  There was an update for windows about the 4200's display. Just finished download, gonna test run something and see how it works before trying a driver installation.

If that fails, well, I'll be back with a BSOD error message at least.
SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION

That's what came up. Although the resolution isn't fucked this time...

You might want to do a RAM test, and/or try an older driver.
Catalyst 12.10 located here

There's also a beta of the next driver version out if you're feeling adventurous.

[Image: 8Yny8GK.png]
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Tute Away will miss you

Posts: 16,282
More info
21st February 2013 09:12 PM
Post: #10
ATI drivers are awful, they have given me headaches in the past too.

First suggestion, don't reinstall the Audio drivers if that's working fine. Second suggestion, try disabling the onboard GPU (Systems > Hardware administration, right click disable) before installing the drivers for the card GPU. Third suggestion, as Alca7raz said, use an older stable version of the drivers.

If you screw up, you can F8 during start up for the safe mode to rollback.
Agree x3 (list)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Vent Away Adventurer

Posts: 7,479
More info
22nd February 2013 12:13 AM
Post: #11
--ANSWER HERE FOR THOSE HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEM--

I had to disable the 4200 card with some help from a remote control technician (geeksquad, specifically), and then set my main video display to PCI-E instead of onboard via the BIOS. Then I was able to use my graphics card port instead of my DVI port, and everything worked correctly.

[Image: tumblr_mijcybwLUM1qai71go1_250.gif]

Thanks for the help, Alca7raz and Tute!
(This post was last modified: 22nd February 2013 10:21 AM by Vent.)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticBananas!JellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some applesROLL FIZZLEBEEF!
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Nightmaremoon Offline Psyclo crusher!

Posts: 1,245
More info
22nd February 2013 11:58 AM
Post: #12
Yeah ATI is rather bad with its drivers.
Do yourself a favor in the near future and buy a nvidia card.
I have the same inbuilt card as you, and its well out of support from AMD.
Now lucky for me this is a self built rig and I dont do gaming and I use Linux as my primary OS (the open source drivers on my machine are actually better then the proprietary ones)
So theres that.
Plus win7 is actually terrible at drivers, seriously if its one gaping hole in 7 its the driver compatibility and most legacy drivers are made more for Vista (or xp for that matter) then 7

Fluttershy is a badass

"Joy is a weakness and weakness will get you killed Spike" -SFDebris

"MEEEEEEEEEEE!" - Khan if he did the Khan scream from Star Trek II
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticBananas!Jelly2spoopyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
AlexOtaku Offline > yum install pony && echo 'yay'

Posts: 109
More info
24th February 2013 06:43 PM
Post: #13
I have 8 (start booing now), and it auto-configures your drivers, and I mean ALL OF THEM. I don't get why people are acting like it's the new Vista, I mean, sure the start menu, but it loads SO MUCH quicker.

So if you get a hold of 8, try that.
Informative x1 Disagree x1 (list)
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY
Nightmaremoon Offline Psyclo crusher!

Posts: 1,245
More info
26th February 2013 10:58 AM
Post: #14
(24th February 2013 06:43 PM)AlexOtaku Wrote:  I have 8 (start booing now), and it auto-configures your drivers, and I mean ALL OF THEM. I don't get why people are acting like it's the new Vista, I mean, sure the start menu, but it loads SO MUCH quicker.

So if you get a hold of 8, try that.

Its for touchscreens, not desktops.
Thus why its hated.
Plus multitasking is rendered impossible on it.

Also using windows 8 just to get auto configured drivers?
psh, please.

Fluttershy is a badass

"Joy is a weakness and weakness will get you killed Spike" -SFDebris

"MEEEEEEEEEEE!" - Khan if he did the Khan scream from Star Trek II
AgreeDisagreeMaybeFunnyWinnerZingInformativeFriendlyUsefulOptimisticPessimisticArtisticCrazyJellySpookyWiseHiByeWhat?Dis gon' be goodI'm horrifiedBuy some apples
PM USER
QUOTE REPLY


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  A bit of help with FPS issues..? Minty Twister 32 6,993 5th June 2013 01:42 AM
Last Post: Lily
  Imgur Extension Issues Blackie 3 1,579 15th April 2013 06:25 PM
Last Post: SunsetBolt
  Networking Issues Can Anyone Lend a Hand? xylulgU 12 1,655 21st February 2012 11:35 PM
Last Post: Nightmaremoon